I quit my job yesturday

I am a Network Engineer. About 9 months ago, I had a job offer for a lot more money, UPS told me that they would match it, but couldn't do it for a few months. They basically strung me along until Tuesday when they told me that couldn't do it. I resigned immediately. I took a position temporarly with a friends company as a sales manager. After sending out an email telling everyone, some old friends emailed me with 5 job offers, so I am not worried. I had to resign out of principal. I really enjoyed working at UPS, but couldn't let them screw me like that.

Has anyone had the same thing happen to them and what did you do?

Rob

nsxlover said:
I am a Network Engineer. About 9 months ago, I had a job offer for a lot more money, UPS told me that they would match it, but couldn't do it for a few months. They basically strung me along until Tuesday when they told me that couldn't do it. I resigned immediately. I took a position temporarly with a friends company as a sales manager. After sending out an email telling everyone, some old friends emailed me with 5 job offers, so I am not worried. I had to resign out of principal. I really enjoyed working at UPS, but couldn't let them screw me like that.

Has anyone had the same thing happen to them and what did you do?

Rob
rob,

i understand the situation as you've described it and think i would have felt much the same and would have given a 2 week resignation notice. in any event, i hope you'll take a few days/weeks of personal time to decompress a bit... and, heck, maybe drive some of those hot rides in your sig file :)

best,
hal

Joel said:
Isn't that similar to a breach-of-contract and thus grounds for a lawsuit?
in many locations, it sure would be. regardless of whether verbal or written, there's a fair amount of personal time, stress and likely $'s needed to pursue. before heading down that path, i'd want to think through the "what's it really mean to me in the long run?" and act accordingly.