Daily Driving : Theft and Accidents

Hello Primers

Like many others on this forum, I am finally reaching a place in life that I could realistically own an NSX. I am a mechanic turned engineer, so no worries on DIY things. I already bought a home and a garage and have been financially responsible for years.

After much searching, I thought of a few interesting questions:

1. While its a Honda, is there a big issue with people vandalizing these cars "just because"? I live in a nice area, but I want to daily drive an nsx, not garage queen it. That means driving to the SF or on road trips. I understand dents and dings happen, but im talking "smashed windows and keyings".

2. Does having a bright color (like red) instead of black tend to attract more vandalism?

3. Does having a dark color (like black) tend to have more parking lot accidents/hit and runs because people "don't see it there".

Just thought I would pose a few questions to those that have ownership experience!

Thanks!

I don't think the color has anything to do with it. If u leave your car stock, it doesn't really stand out. If you mod it with wheels, suspension and all the good stuffs, chances are your car will be a target. My car is nicely modded and some haters already spit on my car once.

You're asking a lot of hypothetical things that have nothing to do with the NSX and can happen to any car. Color does not matter - I used to have yellow cars and no issues but my black m3 always got tons of attention by both police and vandals.

Fixed up cars always attract more attention but sometimes it's just bad luck being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

The fact is that the nsx is more costly to repair (dents, accidents, etc) so if you plan to DD it to SF, it won't look pretty after a while. People in general are careless and with so many people out of work, you end with a lot of haters.