Any Paypal horror stories??

Just wondering. Some of the other boards I follow get a couple of posts a day with stories of frozen accounts, fraud, etc.
I know they lost a big case in San Francisco a while back.

I recently had a 'problem' with my PayPal account. I was recieving deposits into my account for eBay auctions that I had no knowledge of. Needless to say that neither eBay or PayPal was interested in helping me resolve the matter, and it was up to me. It turned out that the person holding the auctions had listed the wrong email address, as his was similar to mine. No big deal, but I would feel more secure about it if I were able to get more than a generic machine generated response. It also has me wondering if there is a way to un-register your account, if you want to leave the service and erase your info.

I came accross this link a long time ago:
http://www.paypalwarning.com/Default.htm

FWIW, I've been using PayPal successfully for over two years now. IMHO, many of the "horror stories" are just as much the fault of the user as they are of PayPal's.

I too have been using PayPal for a couple years now and never had a problem. I'm careful from who I buy and doing a little reaserch before sending money. Never ship anything until full payment has been received.

I've been using Paypal for a couple years with no problems. In fact their buyer complaint process has been very helpful on 2 occasions when I never received what I paid for. You also can't beat the 1.5% cashback on Paypal debit card purchases.

I have a friend that's been working for Paypal for over 3 years. In the beginning it was kind of a rinky dinky operation. Almost every employee had access to all information and all accounts. Now customer service still sucks, but security is much better.

I am amazed.

The mention of paypal on other boards (mostly techie) will result in an onslaught of negative comments of all shapes and sizes.