Want an NSX but scared - Help!

I've lusted after an exotic car for 25 years, and at my age I don't have the luxury of waiting 25 more before I'm too old to enjoy it. I'm interested in buying a 1997 or newer NSX, preferably a T-top (even though I may give up some performance, at my age I won't be near the upper end of the car's potential anyway).

The problem is finding a good car versus buying a new Honda S2000. Yes, they are different cars, with very different personalities, but for $33-35K I can buy a new car with no history to worry about. Browsing through this board I realize that as a novice I don't have the skills to tell what is wrong or right with a particular car, and most of the cars I've seen on dealer lots (including Acura dealers) are not prime cars - at best "B" grade.

If I'm going to spend $50K or so, I want to know that I'm getting value for my money, and not someone else's headache. I almost took the plunge on a used Testarossa, but found out that the car had some serious defects, and this car was for sale from a Ferrari dealer. When I buy a car from a private party, I have no way of checking it out, and even when I go to the dealer to pay for an inspection, I've had mixed results at best. Any suggestions for finding the "perfect" used NSX, or do I go downscale and buy the S2000?

PS: Thanks in advance, this is my first visit to your forum, and I VERY much appreciate the information, quality advice, and friendly atmosphere. I've been a BMW owner for years, joined all their forums, and you guys have them beat hands down! I've also owned lots of motorcycles, and still ride a Moto Guzzi regularly. Few cars give me the adrenaline rush that I can get on my Yamaha R6 which will run 0-100 in under 7 seconds, but that is just a theoretical specification for me. :D

Welcome to the forum!

Being that I live in the southeast (TN) and share very similar automotive tastes, I couldn't resist posting.