Recieving mail from US postal service

Hi guys,
I'm getting headers and a clutch sent over from science of speed in the states and it's being sent via the US postal service.
I've never used the USPS before with items that cost over $1000.

What is the proceedure for custom fees?

I've used UPS before and they did the brokerage and organised the custom fees which was included in the shipping price.

Do US postal service handle the brokerage and customs or do i have to do that myself?

The package that is over $1000 in value, will this be delivered to my house or will i need to pick it up from somewhere?

Any info on this matter would be appreciated
I will call USPS aswell.
Cheers
Ben

Last edited:
It will come into the country via Aus Post, and you'll receive a call / mail out from customs holding your item.

It is then up to you to get a customs agent, or DIY by filling in the 2 forms (usually for car parts) found online and printed out. I have faxed / emailed them back, shown a copy + paste of my PayPal transaction for said products, and had the item mailed out and in my hands within 2 days afterwards. They will advise you by phone / fax / email of the costs incurred - it will not be as cheap as you think it will be. Once paid, your item will be sent out a few days later, usually within 2-3 days depending on your location.

Tip: Be sure to claim your postage costs. ie: The item costs $990, but cost $300 to post, so declared value is $1290... If you tell them the $1290 was including the $300 postage fees, it puts you under the $1000 limit and no fees or levies will have to be paid.

- B

It will come into the country via Aus Post, and you'll receive a call / mail out from customs holding your item.