need paint expert opinion

ak

Legendary Member
My front bumper was repainted over the original paint(without my knowledge) and it cracked/fish eyed badly. So I took the bumper off to get it repainted, and the painter told me that he could only paint over the current paint due to the original(first coat) was on there well and he couldn't strip it.

Today I get a call saying the paint is not sticking on the second coat(the bad one) and he couldn't do anything about it.

My question is, can he not just strip everything down to the plastic and repaint? I know it's plastic and it's a lot harder but I can't understand why he can't strip the paint including the original one.

I am no expert, far far from it. But I thought they sanded down the area to be painted so that it sticks. So... he should sand down the bumper, and then repaint it, no?

I would private pbassjo (Joe) on this board. If you want expert advise.

If he sees this thread I am sure he will comment.

HTH,
LarryB

Even Macco can sand paint. If the shop is simply spraying over the existing paint then you must be paying about $50 for the job. And body shops have a cleaner for removing silicone and wax etc. from the surface for spot jobs. Run-don't walk from this shop. Take your part to a pro who'll match colour with a prism laser device and sand/prep then paint. That's how it's done there ain't no other way.

They can definitely sand it. When I had my Europa repainted they sanded all the old laquer paint off the car, sanded out and built up the stress cracks in the gel coat, regelled where needed, sanded some more, then finally painted with black Glasserit. The joke in the shop was that if someone had any energy, go over and use the jitterbug sander on that wee English car for a couple of hours. That'll suck the life out of your arm!

Your bumper can be sanded down but it is quite a bit of work.
Use of a paint stripper, even the ones made for bumper covers are not suggested. They can eat into the cover.