when to shift

I am new to the NSX. During normal driving, I am not sure if I am supposed to shift after the engine reaches 3K rpm or am I supposed to keep it raved just above 2K like my other Hondas?

I am new to the NSX. During normal driving, I am not sure if I am supposed to shift after the engine reaches 3K rpm or am I supposed to keep it raved just above 2K like my other Hondas?

It really depends on what you are going for. In order to maximize acceleration, you would want to keep the engine revolving at a much higher rate than 3K, since there is not a lot of torque at low RPM. Keep in mind what rate the redline is at.

If you want to maximize MPG, then perhaps maintaining a low target RPM range is desired.

This post really feels like flamebait, but I'll bite nicely. Be careful!

:)

-Josh

How long have you owned your NSX?

Like Josh already said, for daily driving and good gas mileage, shifting at lower RPM is a good idea. But you will have more power the higher in RPM you go, for better acceleration and more fun. It's always a good idea to every once and a while take it above 7K (freeway onramp) -WHEN THE MOTOR IS WARM to 'clear out the exhaust' and keep the car happy and running well.

I would not "rave" in any car period,esp while driving.The rythmic wildly gesticulating movements typical of raving make it quite difficult to drive.:tongue: Back to your ?.......The nsx motor and trannie are designed for high rpm service hence the 8k redline.As long as the car is up to date with all routine service,practice shifting at different points and you will eventualy master the powerband.Remember though no shifting in the middle of turns at your level.:smile:

There is no rule on when to shift. Just shift when you want to. The only thing that I'd avoid is being in 4th or 5th and bogging the engine along at 1-2k rpm.

One last thing, avoid the money shift! :wink: