Suggestions for cops?

There have been several threads here lately about cops in one form or another, usually involving either speeding tickets or gross professional misconduct (some of the beating videos). I've started a new thread here to ask a question- what would the folks here on Prime like to see cops doing? That might sound sarcastic, depending on how your past experiences with the law have been, but it's not intended that way.

I'm a cop in Washington, but I haven't even been out of the Academy for a year (11 months so far). I don't pretend to know everything, but I'm glad to work for a department that seems to get rid of its bad apples and sometimes to even discourage its officers from running traffic if there's more important things going on. However, as in the military and probably many other jobs, a lot of what we do is because we've always done it that way. I like to think we're pretty good about changing when we need to, but sometimes an outside perspective can help point out the need.

This forum has a pretty level headed bunch of people, so I put it to the group- any ideas for patrol officers to go out and get real bad guys instead of running traffic? Just keep in mind that criminals aren't all stupid, and patrol cars arent' too sneaky.

BTW, I've written one speeding ticket in my year on the street, and zero tickets for just an equipment violation.

You are asking a very difficult question. I'm sure that suggestions that I may have may not be within your capability due to the different state that you and I reside in. However that being said, the one suggestion that I have for you, is for you to know and understand the laws applying to citizens legally carrying firearms. I know in Florida a lot of the leo's are unaware of many of the laws regarding concealed carry and some citizens have had their 2nd Amendment right's vilolated.

Whoa......Where is the popcorn? I'll be watching this thread.

Here is my contribution.