Reverse Lockout

I'm trying to find out if most manual cars have reverse lockout like the NSX does. In particular an E36 BMW M3 (1997). It makes sense that most cars would have it.

Thanks.

svalleynsx said:
Let's just say "most" is an understatement! I shudder to think if "any" modern day transmission didn't have it.:eek:

It all depends on the shift pattern. My Mini Cooper S did not because you shifted outside the double H pattern to go into reverse (what would be "8th" gear)

I could not figure for the longest time why the NSX had a reverse lockout since the five speed did not, and other six speeds do not. Then someone told me that 6th and reverse are the same position on the pattern, which I think is just stupid, but then I am not an engineer:confused:

Most modern transmissions in my experience use a mechanical interference design that requires the user to push or pull the knob that allows guide pins on the lever to allow the shifter to be placed into reverse.

The NSX 6-speed tranny uses a solenoid lockout that uses a pin to prevent the gear shifter to be placed into reverse. When the power is released from the solenoid (due to the speed sensor indicating a speed below X mph), the pin retracts, allowing the transmission to be placed into reverse gear.

I believe the E36 M3 I've driven uses the first method (push down to engage reverse).

Cheers,
-- Chris

NSXLNT said:
Could you explain what this reverse lockout is? I never heard this term before.

OK I guess I'm the one most confused here as I am not a mechanical engineer by any means. I always thought "reverse lockout" was the mechanism which prevented someone from accidentally shifting into reverse while in a forward gear? You can imagine the consequences. Say new gearbox?

svalleynsx said: