Need help making a decision

Which car should I go with?

• Year 2000 model (no mods) with 105,000 miles

Votes: 37 90.2%
  • Year 1996 model (with mods) with 84,000 miles

Votes: 4 9.8%

• Total voters
I'm a newbie here and am about to make a decision on one of two NSX models.

I wanted to know your opinions regarding which model you guys think I should go with.

Here are the details for the two cars:
1st NSX
Model year: 2000
Engine: 3.2L (6-speed manual tranny)
Miles: ~105,000
Mods: none, completely stock all the way around.

2nd NSX
Model year: 1996
Engine: 3.0L (5-speed manual tranny)
Miles: ~84,000
Mods: Exhaust, intake, upgraded sound system, chin spoiler, seats

The 1996 model is about $1,000 less, so price is almost the same.

The 2000 model is obviously four years newer and thus has the larger C32 engine and 6-speed transmission, but yet has a little over 20,000 more miles on it. Is this a good trade off? Four years of a newer car, but with more miles? How long do they engines last? I heard that overall, the C32 is a better engine than the C30, but I don't know if that's true.

Also, the 1996 model has had several mods and thus has been altered much more than the 2000 model. The cool thing is that they are mods that I would see myself doing, but obviously I can't confirm the quality of installation.

The 1996 model is the color I've always wanted.

The 2000 model is a single owner versus the 1996 model has had 6 owners. Both have clean Carfaxs (no accidents).

Any suggestions?

Last edited:
In the same condition the newer car for the same money is your best bet.

and WELCOME!

Maintenance history on both would be an important aid to making the correct decision. Are they both all up to date? History available with receipts?

There is one vote for the 96 lol ,probably the current owner of the 96:tongue: