Lens for my Canon EOS Digital Rebel

Hi all,

This question is for the shutter bugs here.

So I have a 6.3 megapixel Canon EOS Digital Rebel which came with an EF 55-200mm and an EF-S 18-55mm lens. I'm pretty new to SLRs in general, but I've read that the lenses provided are borderline at best.

Anyway, I'm looking to get more lenses and more immediately, one that would be good for wide-angle shots. I know that lenses can get very expensive, and being that I'm quite new to this, I don't think that I want to get anything too costly.

Any suggestions on what I should get? I typically like to take scenic shots. Any help would be great. Thanks!

There are a number of online photo review sites that can answer your question. I have the same setup, and have also been considering a new lens or two.

I'm currently looking at the Canon 30d with the EF16-35 mm f2.8l lense. This combo has been recommened by several Prime members that are excellent photographers. Unfortunatly the lense costs almost twice what the camera costs :eek:

High performance glass is the way to go if you can afford it but the question is do you really need it ?

You really need to evalutate what your shooting needs are then decide if you need a lens with a 2.8 f stop.

If you are shooting where you do not need the high shutter speeds to stop the action and there is sufficent light any lens will do.

A nice lens that won't hurt your wallet is the Tamaron AF 19-35mm f3.5-4.5. It's not an "L" lens, but it gets the job done very well. Even though I agree that the you should get the best lens possible, if you can't spend the big bucks, don't let getting another brand stop you. Either way, you still have to post process every digital picture that you take.