How do you negotiate salary?

I'm new to this whole thing and I'm not sure how to approach the salary issue when employers ask how much you want to get paid or offer you a certain salary. Some information or some tips would be helpful. Thanks guys! :)

I would do a lot of research on what the position you are looking at pays in YOUR area. I have found the monster.com tools and salary calculators etc. to be pretty worthless. You need to really talk to people in the industry.

Then I would probably look at get somewhere in the middle of the range and start there - depending on your experience etc.

It is tricky because you do not want to price yourself out of their range.

I am sure others will have some better advice.

As an employer - if they want you bad enough they will pay more then they wanted to - it is human nature.

The key to negotiations is to save the tough stuff for LAST.

1) Lead with the need - make sure you know what the problem is they are hiring for and how you are uniquely qualified to resolve it

2) Build a relationship - ask tons of questions, always take time to meet others in the company, request a lunch with employees, etc.

3) Oversell - tell them of other benefits they get by hiring you

4) Negotiate the easy stuff first: standard vacation, blah blah blah

By this point they have probably fallen in love with you, setup your desk, ordered your computer, told employees you are coming on, and told everyone else the position no longer open.

Then you negotiate salary. Tell them you LOVE this company but you have other more lucrative opportunities and you are trying to justify this position to your wife/dog/etc (never ever be the final decision maker - always have someone you have to clear it by).