High Mile Legend Couple, Please take a look

Hello vintageCarMan.

I'm a newbie NSX owner but longtime Legend owner and webmaster at LEGENDtuner.com.

Looking at the photos it appears to be in decent condition. The aftermarket steering wheel cover should be removed to see the condition of the leather wheel underneath. The hood appears to be missing its underside liner. In addition the engine appears to be missing the small plastic cover over the throttle cable linkage to the throttle body. The interior center console appears to be painted over in the photos and the stereo is aftermarket. The interior carpeting looks worn in the photos. The brake calipers have been painted and the intake, exhaust, corner and bumper lights, mesh grille, and wheels are all aftermarket. The rear bumper appears to have been repainted as the lower lip is glossy as compared to the matte lower valence around the rest of the vehicle.

For the higher mileage, apparent condition, and age of the vehicle I would say the asking price is borderline.

Confirm the timing belt/water pump service at 90K and realize that it will be needing it again at 180K. Check the condition of the head gasket by looking for any oil leakage into the coolant tank. Check the top of the radiator for any leaks along the seam where the plastic and metal portions meet. Check the condition of the CV joint boots as well as all of the rubber door seals. Check the functioning of the A/C and look for any binding/resistance in the power windows. For this car I would recommend a prepurchase inspection on a lift by an Acura mechanic. Also get a Carfax or Autocheck history.

ChrisK on these forums is more familiar with Legend coupes (he has owned several) and may be able to provide more input.