Getting Ready to buy...

Hey everyone... well, after several weeks of perusing the threads and listening to your input, I decided to register and ask a few questions myself.

I'm a newbie looking to purchase my first NSX... for financial reasons I'm looking at the used market. I found a dealer in Portland, Oregon (http://www.nwicars.com/sport.htm will take you to the page with the NSX's) with a 2001, 1998 and 1995 NSX-T. It's the '95 that has struck my fancy... they have it listed at $42,995 with 56,697 miles. What really strikes me is it’s not the typical Red, Black or Yellow... can anyone tell me is Green Pearl an option, or is this aftermarket? I really like it, how do you feel about it? The other question I have is when I did the autocheck on this car, it reported back as having failed the emissions test several times, should this strike me as a concern or could it possibly be due to some modification in the exhaust?

Thanks for any comments!

Here are my comments, if your planning to spend low to high 40's, I would get a 97 nsx versus a pre 97. You get a six-speed 290 horsepower vs. 5-speed 270. Ofcourse this all preference but I'd rather get more horsepower for just a tad more than what the 95 is selling for. Check the for sale section for 97+'s. Good luck in your search.

I have to agree with Ennesssex, if you are going to buy, you are probably best served to target the '97 plus model just for the resale value alone.

I watch the sales board pretty regularly, the '97 and newer models seem to move much quicker.

If that is not a concern, or if you do not want to commit to that much money, then you just can't go wrong with a clean, low mileage NSX of any year, just be careful to have a pre-purchase inspection by an Acura dealership regardless of what car you find to Identify any issues that might present. I would be less that confident if the car were inspected by anyone else - period.