FYI- Proper shifting of the NSX

I just came across this service bulletin from Acura concerning the proper way to shift the NSX, RSX, TL's and TSX's.

They say:

Regardless of what's comonly thought, skip shifting is punishing to an M/T. Those flicks of the gearshift from 2nd to 5th gear or from 3rd to 5th gear can speed up synchro wear, leading to some nasty gear grinding over time. To avoid problems, and to prolong the M/T's service life, we advise you to shift through the gears in sequence and don't speed or power shift.

Well any thoughts on this?

I'm no expert, but here's my $0.01 (not quite worth $0.02). :)

As I understand it, the sychromesh comes into play both on the upshift and downshift. The larger the gap in gearing, the more shaft speed the synchos need to compensate for. With a 3 - 5 upshift, theres a larger RPM gap than would be with a 4 - 5 shift, and therefore the synchros have to work harder to match the shaft speeds. This is the same on downshifts.

I double-declutch on the downshifts to save the synchros somewhat, but don't on the upshift (just never got into the habit.) However, I think that if you double-clutch on the upshift, you should be OK with skipping gears.

As long as you rpm match the gear your going into, how can it be that harsh on the transmission ? Ie, going from 3rd into 2nd to fly around a corner and then power out of it ?

Modernceo said:
As long as you rpm match the gear your going into, how can it be that harsh on the transmission ? Ie, going from 3rd into 2nd to fly around a corner and then power out of it ?
Well, the reason why we are able to do single-clutch downshifts in most modern cars is because of the syncromesh. Before the introduction of syncros, shifting required double-clutching (I believe that some trucks still require double-(de)clutching). The wear is on the syncromesh. Quite simply, the more we use it, the more it wears. By double-clutch/declutching, you reduce the use and therefore the wear on the syncros.