College grad - want precision car - early NSX?Need intelligent discussion,please help

Hello everyone,

I am a 21-yo recent college grad from NC State in Biochemistry/Biology, and I want to replace my current car, a 1996 Volvo 850R, with something more precise. I am being given a large crummy old van for free, so in terms of practicality I am no longer worried about buying a small car - I've got a large 6.0-L V8 hauler for the times I need it. I am a car enthusiast, having come from a BMW 325e and 318iS to the 240-hp Volvo. I miss the precision of a German rear wheel drive and a manual transmission, as my volvo came in FWD/AT configuration. I am willing to pay around $25k for a different car, and I know this places me in the low end of NSX territory, likely something with 80-100k miles and 91-92 model year if properly maintained.

I have been realistically considering a 99-00 BMW 323i or 328i with low miles, but I have always...um....ok, drooled over the NSX. It's like the sexy girl at the function - you want her no matter what her mileage, but you wish you had a few friends available to let you know how much she's been driven around. This is where I'm asking you all for advice. She's sexy, yes, but is she worth it?

Despite decent handling (probably 0.86g) and 0-60 in 6.5, I am tiring of the front wheel drive automatic turbo configuration. I would buy into an early NSX as my daily driver, but I need to know some things first. I know the sacrifices I'd be making in terms of ride quality, it's an exotic. Insurance on the 850R is around $1200 a year in NC, with no infractions since I began driving 5 years ago. Would this change drastically with the 91-92 NSX?