What video format to use?

Just got a new PC with a All-in-wonder card. My project is to convert and digitize all my family video from Hi8.

The record format available: AVI, MPEG3, WMV or ATI

So far I tried...
Format: MPEG
Length: 15 minutes in the highest quality setting ...
File size: 700MB.

Could someone Mac-Educate me for the best format to use? I need:

1> Best picture quality
2> Smaller file size with better compression
3> Most compatible format.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

viseo

MPEG is probably the best way to go. That's really the best quality for the file size. Quicktime is good too, but will almost always be a larger file size the MPEG. Thae other formas just don't look that good.

wmv will be the smallest of all the formats but if you want high quality dvd video then mpeg is the way to go....ive downloaded both formats b4 and in all cases wmv is about half the size of mpeg with only a small loss in resolution. I am no expert but these are my observation . If would like to be able to play them back on your dvd player you will have to convert them to mpeg ntsc format and burn it as a VCD - Video CD ... in which case your dvd player must be VCD capatible as well.

Here is a great site with alot of info as well as shareware programs that will help you along with the project. Hope this helps.

www.vcdhelp.com

www.DivX.com

Last edited:
What's your target media?

1> Best picture quality
2> Smaller file size with better compression
3> Most compatible format.

This really depends on how you plan to share these videos. And remember that these file formats aren't necessarily restricted to a single codec or a preset bitrate (for video and/or audio)

If you're targeting the Web, MPEG (1) is by far the most compatible video format across PCs and Macs, but PC formats like WMV (and AVIs with DIVX codec) offer better compression and smaller file sizes.