Units of measure and people who ignore moderators

I heard there was a NSX in the Atlanta area with >300,000 miles.

And to the schmuck that thinks Km is "Kanadian miles", it's the stupid American government that prevents us from adopting the much more sensible metric system of meters & liters. Even the UK that created the goofy inch, foot, yard, mile, cup, quart, gallon crap has adopted the metric system. Back in the seventies, our government made a half-hearted attempt to convert, but then in their infinite capability to be idiots, abandoned the effort.

As an engineer, I recognize that I can calculate anything I need to based on any idiotic system that uses screwy ratios for different units, but I also recognize that our numbering system is a base 10 system and the beauty of the metric system is everything is based on base 10. Hey, I've got 10 fingers. I've been taught how to easily count form 1 to 10, to 100, to 1000.

But NO, I've got to work with 12 inches to a foot, 3 feet to a yard, 5280 feet to a mile, 640 acres to a square mile and 3 teaspoons to a table spoon, 2 table spoons to a fluid oz(fluid oz to a weight oz is only 1 to 1 for water), 8 oz to a cup, 2 cups to a quart, 4 quarts to a gallon, & 16 oz to 1 pound and 2000 lbs to a ton. I don't know off the top of my head length units cubed to volume units. What is the ratio of cubic inches to a quart? I'ld have to look than one up, but I bet it is a screwy fractional number. I know 1000 cubic centimeters = 1 litre, & for water 1 cc = 1 gram.

I wouldn't joke about Km being Kanadian miles, because we are the idiots for tolerating the screwy system we have adopted and are too arrogant to change to what makes sense.

nsx4fun said:
And to the schmuck that thinks Km is "Kanadian miles".....
I wouldn't joke about Km being Kanadian miles, because we are the idiots...