• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Thinking of getting Masters online...advice?

Hey Prime,

I'm a student pilot for the Air Force down at Laughlin and I'm starting to think ahead toward getting my Masters.

I know I'm going to get tied up here for the next year or so, but when I have a little time, I'd like to knock out my Masters possibly online since it's doubtful that I'd be able to have time off to do it.

Anyone gotten their Masters online? I'm thinking Embry Riddle since they have what looks to be a decent, legitimate online program and work pretty closely with the AF at some bases like Ramstein. I know Michigan also has a few locations at AF bases too.

Money shouldn't be an object either since it should be paid for by AF.

Advice? Do it, get it done, you'll need it for promotions and you're not going to have more time later..you'll have less. In my opinion, online classes will not be as good as a in-person interactive class. But you need to work with what you have. I started in a MBA program to check the box--I hated it. So my second piece of advice is pick a subject you give a crap about :). I'm working on my Computer Science Master's from Hofstra (distance learning); at $900/credit so TA doesn't cut it there, but the classes are at least interesting (to ME).

My recommendation is (a) go for it; and (b) enroll in a program that is fully "accredited" by nationally recognized accrediting institutions. While accreditation is not necessarily a mark of great program/success - and some may claim it is just a marketing ploy, at least it will be acknowledged as a "legitimate" degree - depending on the circles you travel.

Personally, I am suspect when people show degrees from well marketed institutions on TV/Cable who have money to spend on marketing but not on getting accreditation.