Thinking about purchasing a 1991 NSX

Hello all,

I'm looking to buy a 1991 NXS and could use your expert opinion. I live in Japan, so it's a "right side drive" car. Is there anything I need to know about this particular year NXS? It has 85,000 miles on it right now and looks clean inside and out. Once this car hits it's 25 year mark I will be able to ship it back to the states and was wondering if it's anything different then the U.S. versions(other then the driver position). I posted a link to the car below, they are asking $26,000. Thanks in advance for your help.

https://www.facebook.com/jdmsalejapan/posts/468760916615081

Last edited:
I'm not an expert but would point out that you'll have more luck buying a 91 NSX than a 91 NXS

Hmmm there's a saying if you can't spell it don't buy it :redface:

One other difference I'm aware of are the taillights. JDM cars had darker red tint on the glass.

but...why not look for a car in the states? 91/92 NSXs are relatively easy to find for sale. Spend your $ on a better condition car rather than on international shipping...

but...why not look for a car in the states? 91/92 NSXs are relatively easy to find for sale. Spend your $ on a better condition car rather than on international shipping...

+1 the costs to import a 25 yr old car from Japan is just not worth it. I could be wrong but, it might be cheaper to buy a very nice N. American NSX and buy the JDM parts you want (except RHD). However, I think the OP needs to post on the NXSPrime forum. They may be more help.

I also live in Japan and could probably give you some good insight as I'm about a month out from purchasing a car there myself.