Suggestions For Digital Video Camcorder

Hi

I need to purchase a digital camcorder. Can some of you guys give me suggestions. I have been looking, there are so many on the market.

Any suggestions as to where to purchase (I have been checking out J&R 's web site). I am looking at Sony, but would appreciate current owners input on any brand.

Info on Makes, Models, and Accessories would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Rich :confused:

You can't go wrong with a Sony.

Model names differ here in Australia... but i own a 2nd-from-bottom low-end mini-dv Sony and it's very good: small, easy to use interface, long-lasting batteries, lots of input-outputs, and most importantly - a great picture quality.

If you have $$$ to throw about, the Sony 3-chip broadcast quality DV camera's are out of this world!!! :eek: Totally incredible quality.

hope this helps.

Hey Rich,

I have been using a Canon Elura for a few years now including having it mounted in the car for track events. I am very satisfied with it and would recommend the current Elura model.

Bob

Thanks, since my post I have done some research.

I have read positives on the Sony DCR TVR 33 (2.5 screen) and DCR TRV 38 (3.5 Screen). Both these are new DV models.

I have also come across the DVD models Sony DCR DVD 100 and 200. These have a mini DVDs that can be played on most DVD player. Sounds cool!!

Does anyone have info comparing the DVD models to DV models??

Bob, I will spend today checking out the Cannon models.

Thanks any other help would be appreciated.

Rich