Strange things you have driven

I used to work in the automobile trade for about 10+ years. During that time and on other occasions I have had the chance to drive/operate quite a few different vehicles over the course of my life.

Here is an impartial list just off the top of my head of some of the things I have driven/operated.

Firetrucks
Ambulances
Police cars
School buses
Mega motorhomes
Payloader
Forklifts
Motorized aerial equipment
Box trucks
Dump trucks
Bobcats
Backhoes
Semi tractor/trailers
Bulldozers
Tow trucks / Flatbeds
Farm tractors
Tow motor / Tugger
Fuel oil trucks
Cement trucks
Garbage trucks
Excavators
Stretch Limousines
Hearse
Taxis

What kind of things have you driven/operated that are outside the norm a wee bit ?

- Note - Please no airplanes , pleasure boats or motorcycles/quads/snowmobiles/jetskis , just large ' vehicle ' type objects only .

I want to hear about some of the odd things you have driven. I want to hear someone post about some of the COOL military vehicles they have a chance to operate.

Whaddda Got ?

Let's hear it ! :biggrin:

Last edited:
A 12 speed manual transmission telephone line truck is probably the strangest think I've ever driven. Oh wait - I also drove a Ditch Witch.

I also drove Tony Stewart's #20 Home Depot car around Richmond International Raceway at about 10mph off the pace of qualifying speeds. :)

Last edited:
A 12 speed manual transmission telephone line truck is probably the strangest think I've ever driven.

Very cool. :cool: I haven't driven any phone company trucks except for small pickups and a few vans.

I have driven an old bobtailed flatbed wrecker equipped with a flathead engine with a two speed differential.

What was the 12 speed like to drive ?

I never qualified, but have was learning to drive a Bradley when my unit was shifted to light Infantry and the Army gods took away our Bradleys.

73 Lotus Europa (like lying on your back on a luge)
47 MGTC (right hand drive)
Steam roller