Some Newbie Questions - suspension, engine management

I'm new to the NSX so I hop you will indulge some very basic questions:

1) Does the stock shock have threads on them such that you can corner weight the car?

2) Has anyone tried a different geometry from stock that works on the track? ie. front/rear toe-in and camber settings. uneven tire wear is not important to me, but handling and grip is

3) What type of metering does the NSX use? Volume Air FLow, Mass Air Flow, Manifold Pressure or Throttle position?

4) I have read that some ECUs retune the VTEC transition rpm, any torque gains?

5) Is a 1992 NSX OBD1 or OBD2?

PS. searched the web but couln't find a site with above info

pzull said:

pzull said:
1) Does the stock shock have threads on them such that you can corner weight the car?
No

pzull said:
2) Has anyone tried a different geometry from stock that works on the track? ie. front/rear toe-in and camber settings. uneven tire wear is not important to me, but handling and grip is
Yes

pzull said:

3) What type of metering does the NSX use? Volume Air FLow, Mass Air Flow, Manifold Pressure or Throttle position?

4) I have read that some ECUs retune the VTEC transition rpm, any torque gains?

5) Is a 1992 NSX OBD1 or OBD2?

PS. searched the web but couln't find a site with above info

1. I don't think the OEM shocks are adjustable.
2. You might want to try the OEM suspension setup for the 91's. The settings were very aggresive and later relaxed to improve tire life.
3. I believe there is a mass air flow sensor and a throttle position sensor... could be wrong there.
4. There are chips out there that offer modest gains in torque/hp. You can check www.scienceofspeed.com and www.daliracing.com

pzull said:

The NSX calculates the airflow using the throttle position, map sensor, and ambient pressure. I know I have seen what that’s called but I can't remember what.

Found it
http://www.pgmfi.org/twiki/bin/view/Library/SpeedDensity

Last edited:
pzull said: