Recieved a job offer today!!

I recieved a job offer today with a trading firm to join the trainee program and go into futures trading. Does anyone else work as a trader? I have a couple questions I need to ask you before I make a final decision. Thanks!

hhhhmmmm......I work in the financial sector, however in a different area. I work for Deutsche Bank on the Technology side. My old company Merrill Lynch has a huge Futures business, personally I can't stand that firm, lots of bad experiences there.

Sorry, I can't help you with any "trader" type advice though

Congrats! Are they requiring you to put up any capital? NowSeeX's trades futures. I might be able to answer some questions as well.

-awais

thanks guys. no required capital up front, 2 mo. training program, small salary + benefits + bonus.

Basically they want me to guarantee i won't switch firms for the first 5 years. it seems somewhat justifiable but just a little odd at the same time. I don't like being locked into doing something. I still need to get details on the commission split and a few other things but my main concern is the 5 yr contract deal. If I leave before 5 yrs i can't trade with another firm until after 5 yrs is up. also does this seem like it could be a pretty lucrative position? My old bosses last summer when I interned on the CBOT were making ungodly amounts of money but they were also trading options along with futures. just curious for your input since this is one of the smarter boards I belong too.