Pricing observation / your thoughts

By no means have I tracked prices, but from what I've seen, several good deals on '97-98's have transpired lately, although without seeing the cars in person, it's hard to say much about their condition. Early models ('91-94) largely continue to move sideways. I'm not sure how accurate my take is, since it's based mainly on checking the classifieds once or twice a month out of curiousity.

I have been checking every few weeks for a couple years.
Thought I was on to something, but now am not so sure.:confused:
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

I just bought mine a few months ago, so I still have the prices in my head of what I was seeing.
Looking at the FAQ, the pricing there is about right for a 97/98 from what I saw. Around $45,000 to get one that's half way decent.

I also looked at some 91-93 NSXs, and I would say the guide is around right from the few I looked at there too. Both 91's I drove were beat up. One had electricial problems, the other ones check engine light came on while the owner was showing it to me. Both were $30,000.

I don't think there is any reason for the "trends" over the last 5+ years to be any different now, except maybe 04s and 05s holding value better than in the past since no new production. There's no shortage of long-time NSX enthusiasts that will probably trade up to 02+s eventually too.

A new NSX probably won't impact pricing on the 91s much (maybe a slight increase) at 30k, but could be favorable or unfavorable to 50k+ NSXs depending on how it is priced. Anything over $120K won't do much to the newer NSX values. Values could increase a little across the board if public awareness to the NSX brand is re-ignited.

To me its a common cycle. (For collectable cars)
They drop, hit bottom and head back up.
Some are already there, while others are on their way.