Possible buyer with questions

Greetings NSX group,

My name is Doug and am a new forum member. I am in the early stages of looking for a car. Very early, if fact, as I will need to sell my airplane first, to fund this endeavor. (trading one toy for another!)

My ideal car, at this point, would be an unmodified red 94' with tan interior. My current car is a suspension modified 06' MX-5. Must admit, I love going top down and only put the top up in the heat of the summer (all long time here in Central Texas!). So that leads me to thinking about a T-top version. As an engineer, I like the idea of the rigidity of a hard top but am afraid I will really miss open motoring.

The question is: are the t-tops noticeably more loose/noisy than the hard tops? For those who may have owned both, how do they compare?

Thanks for your time. This is a great group on the forum, the technical depth you have is far better than most car forums.

Thanks for the reply. I already have read/printed out that buyer guide, and it mentions this issue in passing. I also apologize if I have missed a previous thread on the subject. We all have different expectations from our cars and I know the answer is an opinion for each of us. Just hoping someone who owned both, could quantify the difference.

For me I had to have the T-Top. I live in SoCal and have only tracked my car once. Driving with the top down, which I do a lot, is more important to me than the lost rigidness of a coupe. Its up to you.

I cant answer your question regarding wind noise. But, on occasion, you will experience "T-Top Squeak" when the gasket dries or gets dusty. However, this noise can be be remedied.

I live in Florida and also own an S2000. I had to have the T top myself and im glad I did. If you enjoy the open air there is no question

Last edited: