Nitrous...good or not?

Hi! Thanks for your help on the last post I did! :smile:

I had one more question for you guys. What do you think about nitrous systems? They can be cheap for the HP gain, around $500 for a gain of 50 to 75 horsepower. Would something like this be worth it and also, would it damage my engine?

Hi! Thanks for your help on the last post I did! :smile:

I had one more question for you guys. What do you think about nitrous systems? They can be cheap for the HP gain, around $500 for a gain of 50 to 75 horsepower. Would something like this be worth it and also, would it damage my engine?

Nitrous is for Moooostangs and Camaros. Please don't.:biggrin:

I've been running a Zex dry kit with a 75 shot for over 3 years now with not one problem. I go through 6-10 bottles a year. The torque is unbelievable.

I use to run a 90 shot of nos in my 1991... well the previous owner had it installed and i used it some but not much. i never had any issues. it was on for years. the car run really well. i took it off b/c i wans't using it much. my new nsx has ctsc... the now is more power but the sc is nice but it's always there. if you really want to do something.. start shaving weight off the car :)

Nitrous is a very viable option when loking for horsepower. Most shy away form it because there is a large potential to damage the engine when improperly setup. Nitrous can actually be a great option when looking for a little extra something on the street, whether you're getting on the freeway, hitting a straight on the backroads, or playing with the guy in the vette at the redlight. The good thing about nitrous is you can use it when you want to, you engine is rarely under the added load (unless you always use it).