New toy...

Not really NSX related. I just picked up a bike after not having one for awhile. This is my first Ducati. I sort of have mixed feelings about it after one day of ownership. I haven't gotten a chance to take it through any twisty roads, but on the freeway it was pretty uncomfortable... my balls are seriously cooked (is there no insulation under the seat?)... and the seat is pretty damn hard. This is coming from a guy who used to daily drive a GSXR 600... which I thought was reasonably comfortable. She sure is pretty though...

Does anyone in the area have any Ducati experience?

99_ducati_748.jpg

Well, I have some experience. I had a 748 and R1. My thoughts were very different. I thought the Duc was very very comfortable. I liked especially how the gas tank was thinner and made to fit your legs around it. On the R1, I felt like I was riding a horse, the tank seemed so huge and I felt bowlegged.(spelling?) I would get cramps in my legs from the R1. Also, the 748 feels more refined than any other bike I've owned. It just lacked the power of the R1. Oh I also think the way the rear seat flips over is pretty cool. :cool:

Not a really nice experience, but I fell off of a 999R while in Hawaii. I was going to buy it to match my NSX (red) but after feeling what 1000cc feels like on your leg I gave the notion up. Beautiful bikes, exotic sound (open carbon clutch cover on the one I "rode") and great for the beach cruising scene because in Hawaii we don't need to wear helmets. But I dropped it...:frown:
DJ

Duc's are notoriously unnecessarily uncomfortable and usually cook various body parts. That being said, if you have full leathers on you don't notice it as much. The RC51 is probably as similar as a Japanese bike can get IMO, mostly due to its vtwin construction and race ergos.