New to prime and looking to become an owner!

Hi, I am Joe. I live in Kentucky. I have been in love with the thought of owning an nsx for a decade. I have finally become able to afford one of these machines. I am a mechainic by trade so I am looking for a higher mileage car to keep the price down. I may be dreaming but i would like to get one of these with a straight body for 17k or so. I am interested in any kind of input that you all may have(where to look, what to look for, cost of ownership and so on)

Hi Joe and welcome. Sorry to start off like this, but I think if you're looking for a non-salvage NSX for $17K, you're winking in the dark. Is it possible? Yes, but I don't think you're going to get much for that amount of money. If you do find something for less than $20K you'll probably find it needs a lot of work, I understand you're a mechanic, but these things still need parts.

Probably don't want to hear this, but I would suggest you wait until you can up your budget. Look at "NSX for sale" thread to get some ideas. Good luck.

I know that you are right. I have been watching the ads and tracking the asking prices for early models for several years. It looks like a driver is about 25k and a low mileage car is about 35k. I will probably end up spending closer to 25k if i can find a turn key car with good records.

I know that you are right. I have been watching the ads and tracking the asking prices for early models for several years. It looks like a driver is about 25k and a low mileage car is about 35k. I will probably end up spending closer to 25k if i can find a turn key car with good records.

There definetly out there. I just saw a Black 91 with 76K go for 23,500. Looked like it was a real deal. Good luck!

Anything without a Salvage title will be tough to find for under $20k. At least in decent condition.