Marketing a business....advice...

Well I'm going to be helping a buddy of mine out with some marketing for his speed shop. He deals primarily with BMWs, Audi's, Porsches and other German/European cars, so my NSX isn't really a marketing tool :)

Anyways, I was wondering if ya'll had any ideas for advertising. So far I've got:

Forums (BMW, etc)
Local Car shows (vendor booths and fliers)
Local Trader Magazines

Im trying to figure out some other ideas to spread the word. They have a few sponsored cars that have their name on them, so thats a plus. I also know a ton of people in the car scene down here, so thats another plus.

Any other unique ideas?

thanks in advance

Is he just tuning cars or is he reselling parts as well? If it's just tuning, then I really would have no idea since I have no experience with attracting local customers to a business.

If he's going to be selling parts through mail-order, then I would suggest taking out an ad in a european car tuner magazine. And don't get one of those small 1/6 or 1/4 page ads. If you really want results, then pay for a full page ad. Also, you can usually get a good position (near the front, right side) without paying extra -- you only need to request it.

I'm not in a similar business at all -- I'm in the music business. But for my company I find advertising in trade magazines to pay off, but only if its a large ad in a good position within the magazine. The small ones seem to be a waste of money.

Also, experiment at the beginning. Whenever someone calls to place an order, ask them how they heard about the company. If they say from a magazine, ask them which one and the month of the issue. People usually have no problem answering a couple of questions like that. If you are taking orders on a website, also ask those types of questions. It helps you to know how well your ads are working.