I'm taking this off topic thing pretty far - dishwasher repair!

So, the handle to open our Maytag dishwasher broke recently. I coulda called the Maytag repair guy seeing as how he seems pretty bored (based upon the tv commercials) or I coulda called the home warranty company, but I figured that it was worth at least investigating doing the repair myself. Well, there are loads and loads of posts on several message boards about this problem. It's like Acura with their glass 5 speed auto transmissions. Bad design. Anyway, some of the posts went on and on about its a challenging repair even for a tech... blah blah blah... That got me a bit concerned because I'm a lawyer, I'm not an appliance repairman. Man, it must be hard if the techs are saying its hard. Nonetheless, I kept reading the threads on the repair and I ordered the part, which came today. I tell my wife we have to budget some time for the project this weekend. She cautions me not to start it if I can't finish because I'd read of people who couldn't get humpty dumpty back together, and it was a minor disaster for them and she reminds me that I have filled our weekend with social events from the beginning of the weekend to the end, so there's not going to be much time to work on this repair. Well, being the impatient person that I am, I figure, I'll tackle this beast tonight. My wife sees me lugging in to the kitchen every possible tool one might need to build a house and says in that voice that only wives have, I guess you're not planning on going to bed anytime soon. I scoff. I've got the internet and tools (however, I didn't even know if I'd ordered the right part), how long can it take (apparently the Maytag people think it takes a tech 2 hours acc'd to one post that I read)? Well, it's Thursday, so if it takes forever and a day, I've only got to make it through tomorrow before I can catch up on some sleep on Saturday. Guy logic is sooooo stupid. Married guys with children should not start projects at 10: