Great anti-virus software, free!

I've been using Norton Anti-Virus for the last several years. But their annual renewal fees have gotten as pricey as buying the regular software, and the anti-virus software hasn't worked as well as I had hoped.

I discovered a free anti-virus software that works far better than Norton. This software is http://www.avast.com

The control panel looks very slick. The anti-virus definitions are updated automatically, just like Norton. Best of all, it also is anti-spyware, far more effective than Spybot or Ad-aware.

The software is free for home + non-commercial use.

Try it, if you're tired of paying for ineffective anti-virus software!

NsXMas said:
I've been using Norton Anti-Virus for the last several years. But their annual renewal fees have gotten as pricey as buying the regular software, and the anti-virus software hasn't worked as well as I had hoped.

I discovered a free anti-virus software that works far better than Norton. This software is http://www.avast.com

The control panel looks very slick. The anti-virus definitions are updated automatically, just like Norton. Best of all, it also is anti-spyware, far more effective than Spybot or Ad-aware.

The software is free for home + non-commercial use.

Try it, if you're tired of paying for ineffective anti-virus software!
thx for the tip... i use ad aware, norton and web sweeper, so would be interested in specific preferences over those - aside from fee issues - as well as any personal "saved my ass" occurances you experienced with avast vs ad aware.

thx again for the tip, looking forward to hearing additional feedback.
hal

queenlives said:
thx for the tip... i use ad aware, norton and web sweeper, so would be interested in specific preferences over those - aside from fee issues - as well as any personal "saved my ass" occurances you experienced with avast vs ad aware.

thx again for the tip, looking forward to hearing additional feedback.
hal