Going to check out a yellow 97 in San Diego, any thoughts on worth?

I've been looking for a 97-01 NSX for about 2 years now, and I finally found a good one close. My plans for the car are weekend driver and occasional track days.
A software guy by trade, but I'm a pretty competent mechanic--I normally work on VW/BMW/Porsche. I can rebuild motors and weld and do all of that sort of thing so minor mechanical issues don't bother me. I just want an NSX so I don't _have_ to do that every weekend :)

http://sandiego.craigslist.org/nsd/cto/2832170149.html

Here is the ad, but the price seems high to me for the miles. Obviously KBB is pretty worthless in this situation, but what do you guys think?

There are 2 problems with the paint, the front bumper has a largish spot when the paint is peeling off next to the Acura symbol where the PO spilled some solvent and the rear bumper has a ~4 inch crack in the paint.

Assuming everything else is decent, whats a good price range for this car?

Has anyone seen it?

thanks!

Last edited:
I would recommend doing some market research on the marketplace here and on autotrader and try to find out what similar year cars are selling for with similar miles. Its always tough to pull a number out of the air.

Good Luck!

I have a good idea, I've been looking at buying for at least 2 years now, but not really being "in the scene" all I can see is what people are asking, which can be quite far off as to what people are actually paying :)

I feel it's a bit high too, and it gets worse :(

I just got a carfax on it and there was an accident with 'structural damage damage to front' in 2003.

The current owner was not aware of it, so I assume the repair was done pretty well. Rest assured I will be looking over the front end with a fine-toothed comb.

Considering this, I don't think the car would be worth more than 35k, but I'll have to see what condition the whole car is in.

Wow that pretty high but their happens to be a shortage as of lately.