• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

For any pilots on here

My next door neighbor is a retired United Airlines captain, and he sent me this video. I think those of us who fly will find it especially meaningful, even if you fly as a passenger. It was prepared by a retiring Continental Airlines captain.

The soundtrack adds to the impact, IMO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3gKegWsv9g

I am a pilot but only in GA.

That video is really quite simple but moving and thought provoking at the same time. Is there really any other profession where so many people collectively put their trust in one or two people in such a vulnerable enviroment? All the partners, extended families, businesses, employers, employees etc, etc who depend on the safe journey and return of the cargo to continue (or improve) life afterwards.......

People don't care. Passengers just want their $199 tickets and management just wants more and more consessions. The video was self indulgent and delusionable. Maybe 15 years ago, but that sentament and respect for the profession is long gone.

sent from my Evo4

People don't care. Passengers just want their $199 tickets and management just wants more and more consessions. The video was self indulgent and delusionable. Maybe 15 years ago, but that sentament and respect for the profession is long gone.

sent from my Evo4

Well I guess that's because of complacency that folk take it all for granted nowadays. I guess from the the modern day perspective what you say is true but it still doesn't detract from the simple fact that everyones lives is in the pilots hands.....

Re: I'm still here, thanks to a pilot