ECU Upgrade?

I'm fairly new with my 94 NSX Automatic, but I have some experience with other cars. My 94 has an SOS Throttle Body, Exhaust, and an aftermarket intake. The car is running fantastic but I can't help wonder if the ECU is taking advantage of these upgrades. I understand I have an OBD1 ECU but I'm curious if anyone out there can tell me if I should upgrade my ECU, if its worth it, and who makes them. Also, should I get headers? Thanks for your input. This site is awesome.

If you have the 'cojones' and think you can do a better job on an essentially stock engine than the Honda engineers, go here and immerse yourself.

http://www.nsxprime.com/forum/showthread.php/211416-Tuning-the-NSX-3-0L-Using-the-OEM-ECU

The throttle body, intake, header and exhaust are relatively minor modifications that are probably well within the fuel trim limits of the ECU. There might be some small amount of power to be had by altering wide open throttle fuel map settings (either by altering the maps on an OEM ECU or using an aftermarket ECU) if you are prepared to spend the time and $ for dyno testing.

Is it worth it? Depends on your $ / hp value factor. If you like spending money, new headers would probably be a safer bet than heading into the brave territory of messing with the ECU.

I can always count on you Old Guy to be a straight shooter. Thanks for the info. Now i'm gonna start doing research on headers and maybe test pipes. Their is no emission testing in Florida, but I really don't want the car to be too loud. As it is, the aftermarket exhaust I have, is on my limits of tolerance.

Now i'm gonna start doing research on headers and maybe test pipes.

I recently installed headers on my 1994 and it was the single best performance upgrade I have done. See my post here for the details.

http://www.nsxprime.com/forum/showthread.php/210193-Headers-going-in-this-week