Do you put in 5qts or 5.3 qts of oil when you do your oil change??

As everybody can see I'm pretty new to the NSX community and car itself. I just did my first oil change about 2 weeks ago and noticed that the manual said the capacity was 5.3 qts of oil. My other vehicle takes 5.49qts of oil and the first time I did an oil change on that car and put in exactly what the manual said too, afterwards I checked the dipstick like normal and realized that I was over filling by what the dipstick was showing. So after that oil change I stuck to 5 qts of oil with that particular car and every time since then 5 qts has filled it to the full mark on the dip stick, and have been doing that for the last 45,000 miles with no issues whatsoever.

Now I thought I would do that with the NSX and when I changed the oil I put in 5 qts and checked the dipstick and it showed full. I even drove the car for a little while and let the car sit and checked the oil after it had time to drain and it still showed full on the dip stick. I then ran into this old thread where Larry B stated and I quote "Well, the bottom line is you did it! BTW, make sure with the car warmed up, engine off for 3-4 minutes, you check the oil level. My 1991 uses EXACTLY 5.3 qts after an oil/filter change."

So what do you guys fill to 5 or 5.3 qts??

Thx

As long as you are in acceptable range on the dipstick you should be fine, and it sounds like you are cognizant of how much you are putting in your own engine. That .3 difference could be a combination of filter size and how well drained the engine is. Some people evacuate oil, others let it drain for hours, and some do a quick change - all netting slightly different results. If you are like me you drain on a hot engine so it flows out like water and in the process burn yourself, lose the drain bolt in pan, which overflows 5 quarts on the ground that you are laying on.