CTSC noise

Yesterday...I was driving home and I noticed a weird rattling sound coming from the rear...almost sounded like something was dangling from the rear undercarriage. Kind of a kadink..kadink sound...not consistant...but noticeable. My car was runnning fine other that that. I decided to baby it home..I had only about 5 miles to go. Then after a short time it stopped...maybe 1/2 mile.

I got home raised my engine compartment to have a listen..I have never done this before..and it seems as though the SC makes a bit of mecahanical noise. Almost like there is marbles spinning around inside.

My question since I din't have a baseline...does the CTSC make a lttle mechanical noise..or do I have something to worry about?

Any thoughts?

Thanks for the response !!

There is no play what so ever.

Should I drive it to my local tech or have it towed? It is about 10 miles.

Thanks for the response !!

There is no play what so ever.

Should I drive it to my local tech or have it towed? It is about 10 miles.
Well since I don't know the exact sound or how loud it is.
I'd not recommend driving it as there might be bearing damage (when was your last oil change of the unit?)
Unlikely but could happen, lobe damage (foreign debris?)

You don't want to aggravate any damage possibly there or the risk anything getting into the engine. (although not likely)
So I'd recommend having it towed.

Is it possible to unhook the belt and start the engine? That should rule out SC issues. Also may check the SC tensioner pulley bearing.

When my bearing went on my SC there was no play at all but at idle it was making noise. Once you got up in rpms it would go away. it was a clunking noise. If it sounds different then it normally does i would have someone look at it. I will say if you need a rebuild DONT use PSE superchargers. They tried to scam me and there are other stories of ED who owns the company trying to rip others off