Cars that have been at auction - does that effect value?

I am not talking about EBay type auctions where one private seller or dealer sells to a private seller. I am talking about cars that show one or several auction appearances on their carfax/autocheck reports.

One negative I have found - a nice 95 NSX-T that is near me went through the auction process 4 times and has no paperwork, not even a book with stamped service records. I am thinking there must be a deduction of $3-$5 k per appearance at an auction. The car I am talking about has 39K miles, good paint, a CompTech exhaust and intake. Asking price is $44K. It drove great. I am a newbie at this NSX buying process hoping to learn something here.
Thanks,
Dennis in SE PA

I wouldn't really say that the auction process per se devalues a car, but it seems a disproportionate number of NSXs that go through auction have issues. It is also an issue if there is no documentation for the maintenance and you cannot track it down on your own.

Obviously the newer cars just off lease are less likely to have issues than the '91 that is on it's 5th auction, but you still need to evaluate the car itself to make a judgement. A 2000 NSX could be a clean NSX just off lease, or it could be a total disaster. A repeat auction 1991 NSX could be a basket case, or it could very well be a nice car dealers have been taking in on trades and didn't want to hold onto, so they've been auctioning it.

I can't see why there would be any deduction PER auction. After it goes through once and you don't have the car's history, that doesn't change with subsequent auctions. The condition of the car is what ultimately matters. You just need to be diligent with your pre-purchase inspection process.