Car Trade in advice...

Ok, so I'm going to trade in my truck for another one. But here's the thing. The truck I have is going to set me upside down. I owe about $14000 on it and the dealership will probably only give me $9500-$10000 TOPS.

The truck I want to buy is $12,900.

I'm willing to pay more for the new(er) truck, but how can I work that into my financing? Banks usually only finance 20% more than you pay for the truck, which would only be $2500, which still means I would owe about $2000.

Is there anyway around this? Is there anyway I can get a loan to cover the new truck AND what I owe on my old one?? I can afford the payment, I just want and need a bigger truck.

Thanks in advance guys! I'm new at all this! :)

if you're upside down, don't do it, don't trade your truck in. Either sell it on the private market for about what you owe, have someone take over payments or keep it. By trading a vehicle while you are upside down on your loan, you're basically "paying the dealership" to take it off your hands...

Keep the truck. I went through the same thing when I was younger and learned it's always best just to keep what you have even if it needs some repair. You have an NSX, what more could you want? ;)

apapada said:
Either sell it on the private market for about what you owe, have someone take over payments or keep it. By trading a vehicle while you are upside down on your loan, you're basically "paying the dealership" to take it off your hands...

I agree with apapada that you should sell your truck for retail. You'll get closer to your pay off amount than trading it in.

I would also suggest calling your bank and arranging the loan before you work with the dealer. It will take more effort but in the end you will be in much better shape. I'm in the business so if you need any more advice, pm and I'll give you my #.

Best of luck.

Brian2by2 said: