Can I afford an X?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is long, i aplogize. I just wanted some advice. And for you guys to make sure I didnt miss anything...

About 6 months ago I came in here looking for answers about the NSX and ownership costs, etc. I was new to the community and have learned a lot over the past 6 months.

I have also gotten a secure, fairly high paying job (For being 19) last year, and would like to finally purchase my dream car. I am curious as to your opinions on whether or not financially this is an applicable dream to pursue. My job pays base of 65k/year and I recently just got a 15,000 bonus. Because I am a student with a full tution and board scholorship I have no expenses other than gas for my sunday driver and ocasional AutoX and Road Course car. Even my food is paid for. :) Needless to say, I have accumulated over 35,000 to my car fund this year alone and would like to purchase a new car. And in case your wondering... I"M NOT A DRUG DEALER... ;)

First off I know you all think i'm a young punk that is getting way ahead of himself in life and should save up to buy a house. Well, I understand that and put my entire earnings from the first year in savings, etc for just that purpose. The other money left over from this year (40k give or take a little) is going towards that same fund. However, i'm not going to buy a house until i graduate and I still have 3 years left. Those three years salary are going all into that same "house/moving" fund.

I have money allready set aside to pay for the insurance for the entire year under my fathers policy (quite a savings compared to going solo). So that is not a worry.

I built up a cushion of funds to cover any unexpected service that might need to be performed as outlined in the FAQ of this site. (My other car is a DSM, I know all about unexpected service. AAA knows me personally!) Money for timing belt changes, tires etc is all put away safely to be called upon if and when needed.