Camera Experts

I am in the market for a Digital SLR Camera, nothing exotic or complicated. 5 or 6 mega pixels would be enough as we will only be printing the pictures to about 8x10. New or used. Thanks in advance.

Armando

First question would be whether you have any lenses already. When consumer digital slrs first came out I went with a Canon D60 because I had a complement of Canon lenses. Although there are packages including a lens, most digital slrs are sold as body alone.

I am not aware of any 5mp digital slr other than the Olympus (of which I have no firsthand knowledge other than reading reviews) and would not recommend one even if you could find it because if you are going to take the leap to a digital slr you might as well leave yourself with the option of very large prints that are capable with a 6mp.

Another issue is your price range. If you want a lower priced alternative, I would recommend the Canon Digital Rebel, aka 300D, currently priced at approximately $689 at B&H Photo. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=297500&is=REG That is an excellent camera for the price.

A little sturdier and more advanced would be a Canon 10D, now being discounted as a result of the introduction of the 20D. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=277768&is=REG The current going rate averages about $1150, but that is body only as well.

Ideally, you should spend the most money on a good lens but that also depends upon the type of photography for which it will be used. If just for recreational/family activities, you can get away with a less expensive lens for everyday shooting.

I currently shoot both the Canon D60 and a recently acquired Canon 20D. I have no affiliation with Canon other than being an owner of 4 Canon film slrs and 2 Canon digital slr bodies.