Advice on 1992 NSX

Hi everyone:

I have been shopping for an NSX since August of 2002. Yes, I have taken advantage of the buying information offered by this wonderful site.

I am leaning toward a 1992 with 122k that is for sale locally. The asking price is $26,500, but the car has had $6500 in recent repairs, including a new transmission. I drove it in August and it seemed tight. I will of course have it thoroughly inspected at a dealer prior to purchase (unless someone has a recommendation for a great indy shop in the Milwaukee/Madison WI area).

The vin # is JH4NA1150NT000801

Can anyone do a carfax for me? I believe the car spent most of its life in Louisiana.

Does anyone know anything else about the history of this car?

I am a little concerned because the car has been for sale for a long time (over a year). I think the asking price is too high, but the mechanical condition may warrant it. Kbb is $23.5, but not all that reliable for the NSX or other high end/limited production cars. (Kbb thinks a 1988 M5 is worth $5k!).

Thanks.

Ryan Braithwaite
1994 BMW 325i
NSX forthcoming

Originally posted by brahtw8:
I will of course have it thoroughly inspected at a dealer prior to purchase (unless someone has a recommendation for a great indy shop in the Milwaukee/Madison WI area).

You live near one of the best NSX service departments in the country: Acura of Brookfield, just west of Milwaukee. Take it there and they will know exactly what it needs. John Vasos is the service manager and will help you.

Originally posted by brahtw8:
I think the asking price is too high, but the mechanical condition may warrant it. Kbb is $23.5, but not all that reliable for the NSX or other high end/limited production cars. (Kbb thinks a 1988 M5 is worth $5k!).