Advice needed: Planning on starting a restaurant

So, I've been thinking about having my own restaurant for years. Recently me and the wife have discussed it a lot and I've come up with a concept and seriously considering pulling the trigger.

I know there are quite a few of you that have owned restaurants or just have general knowledge of starting a new business. What advice can you give me?

My background is... I've cooked in various types of restaurants for 10 years. I've been in everything from fast food to upscale french cuisine and everything in between. I've held many supervisor positions but never have been a "manager" but I know the ins and outs of managing a restaurant. I am kind of like a manager now at my cafe (because I run the place alone). I do not have any culinary or management degrees.

My concept is... A small cafe that sells grilled and hot subs. Mostly focusing on philly cheesesteaks and homemade meatball subs and various other hot subs and sandwiches. This will be nothing like a quizno's or subway. In my area, there are very few sandwich shops like this.

What advice can you more experienced restaurant or business guys give me?

I don't know anything about resturants, however I know a lot about running a small business with a lot of competition. I say do not do it, especially in this ecconomy. Maybe you can start off small by preparing lunch food and selling it door to door at business complexes. You can test the waters without a huge investment, and if your clients like the offerings, then you can open a small shop and worry about rent, electrcity, telephone, water, taxes, etc. Remember to get all the appropriate insurance and licenses before you start up as the penalties are harsh and people will want to see that you are licensed anyway.

Good luck.

I would not do it at this time. We have a very high unemployment rate at this time and no one would want to eat out. Timing is everything when you start out a business.