Advice about student loan consolidation

Recently I have been receiving notifications from my student loan lender SallieMae that I am eligable to lock in a 2.875% rate once my student loans come out of the grace period (June). I have been receiving a rate of 2.82% while in grace but I was informed by my loan rep that my rate will increase to 3.42% after I am out of grace. I'll be blunt, I don't know too much about finances. This is the only loan I have taken out in my entire life, besides a credit card. I am new to the idea of getting another loan to pay off an existing loan. I understand people do this with there home mortgage loans all the time to secure the lowest rate. What are some of the details I should be looking for in this contract to reconsolidate, and is reconsolidation of a student loan a good idea at all?

Student loans are typically the cheapest debt you will ever have. It's always a good idea to reduce your interest rate if there is no cost involved that would offset your savings (hence people refi their mortgages when it makes sense.)

I would encourage you to make sure there are no fees, since this isn't a drastic change in the interest rate. Also, make sure you pay off all your higher interest credit cards and debts before your student loans. This is cheap money and is actually classified as "good" debt, if there can be such a thing. :D

Don't stress about carrying your student loan for a while, since you are paying a nominal rate and have a long time to repay. Focus on paying off higher cost debt first.

Good luck!

Do you get to claim interest on student loans as tax deductions?

At least here in Canada 100% of the interest is tax deductible, but if you do something like consolidation your tax benefit disappears. May not apply in the US though..

satan_srv said:
Do you get to claim interest on student loans as tax deductions?